Confirmation Bias

Bugs,

I know about confirmation bias.  I was lost in the mountains in new Hampshire once.  I didn’t realize it. I knew where I was. I had no doubt where I was. Without going into tedious detail I was looking at things and not seeing what was there because I knew where I was so I couldn’t be seeing those things.  It literally made me dizzy when I discovered where I actually was.  My head was spinning.

I immediately recognized the religious application to my lesson in getting lost.  If you ‘know’ something is true you will make all the evidence conform to your bias.  You will be “seeing but you will not see.”  It’s not my mind playing tricks on me.  It was my mind creating a reality out of belief.  Essentially belief made my mind impregnable to the evidence that contradicted my beliefs.

Leave a Reply

